Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal


The largest Church in Canada. It’s a grand creation inside and out.

Saint Joseph's Oratory of Mount Royal
Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal

IMG_6431

We visited the church last Saturday. I have to say that I do not believe in religion but I enjoyed very much the visit to the church. As I said earlier, the place is grand and beautiful. Discovering new things – rituals, beliefs, architecture, people- leaves me with a feeling of bliss! I also enjoyed trying to imagine what goes on in the minds of people while they pray, when they believe, and when they don’t (I can’t help it – I am obsessed with the human mind!).  And then I was reading Leaves of Grass yesterday and found a connection with what Walt Whitman says:

 We consider bibles and religions divine… I do not say they are not divine, I say they have all grown out of you and may grow out of you still, It is not they who give the life… it is you who give the life”  – Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass

3 thoughts on “Saint Joseph’s Oratory of Mount Royal

  1. I have long wanted to visit Canada, and this just made the itinerary. I have always (read: for as long as I can remember) loved churches, despite my decidedly non-Christian theology. Something about a physical monument to spirituality/belief. And who can beat the artwork . . .

    Like

Share your thoughts

