Buzzards of the UK


I am confused. Aren’t these the hawks? I saw about five or six of them yesterday while driving along the rural roads of Staffordshire. Each time that I got off to take a picture the bird flew away except for once (the second photo below). In the first picture the bird is just about to take off as well, and the picture was taken while staying inside the car this time as I didn’t want it to be another failed attempt at capturing a buzzard.  Makes me think that they aren’t as friendly as the ones I meet in Canada. Or maybe I was a sloppy photographer yesterday.

Common Buzzard

Common Buzzard
Common Buzzard
Common Buzzard

 

2 thoughts on “Buzzards of the UK

  1. Yes they are Hawks. In the UK we tend to use the term Hawks as a name for the group of species. So this includes the Goshawks, Sparrowhawks and Buzzards – We don’t have as many species as the US and Canada. I was interested in your comment about how they seem to be more nervous of Human company – this may have something to do with the level of persecution / disturbance they receive in some areas. Enjoy your time in UK.

    Like

Share your thoughts

