Downy Woodpecker – Photo shoot


These photos were made a few days back. The male Downy Woodpecker let me very close to him and at one point made me wonder if I am invisible. Completely ignored my presence and went about it’s own merry business. Same did the Great Blue Heron who I met a few minutes before the woodpecker – it felt weird. I’ll share the Heron later, maybe in the next post. It’s the closest I’ve gotten to these two birds, about four feet way (anything closer would have been invading their personal space right?). It also felt peaceful, as if they knew that I meant no harm.

Also, a chickadee landed on my camera bag while I was photographing the Downy, so I felt even more invisible. What was I? a tree? (I’m guessing the Chickadee thought I had some bird seed in there – you see, the people who maintain the area give them food daily). This was at the Riverwood Conservancy in Mississauga.

Male Downy Woodpecker
Male Downy Woodpecke

 

Downy Woodpecker
Male Downy Woodpecker
Male Downy Woodpecker
Male Downy Woodpecker
4 thoughts on “Downy Woodpecker – Photo shoot

Share your thoughts

