Getting personal: Oriental Garden Lizard


Upon close examination it is clear what this Oriental Garden Lizard has gone through. It’s gone through a spider web at some point in it’s life. I did not get to ask whether the event has been traumatic or joyful.

His facial expression shows some sort of satisfaction, don’t you think?

Oriental Garden Lizard (male), also called Changeable Lizard
Oriental Garden Lizard (male), also called Changeable Lizard

Oriental Garden Lizards are the most common agamid lizards in Sri Lanka. Females are greyish brown with variable patterns on their skin. However, the colouration of this male in mating season just blows my mind.

Known in Sri Lanka as
Known in Sri Lanka as “blood sucker” due to the occasional red head after fights with other males

It’s rare to see a landscape in the eyes of your subject. On his eyes I see the image of the Buddhist stupa that was behind me. I met this Garden Lizard at a temple ground; a temple I won’t share in this blog as it did not give me the feels. As a new grand construction it gave me the feels of business, money and concrete rather than spirituality. Let’s go a bit closer;

Close up - Oriental Garden Lizard
Close up – Oriental Garden Lizard
4 thoughts on “Getting personal: Oriental Garden Lizard

    1. Your comments encourage me to keep sharing more. thanks 😀 The lizard is one of my personal favorite photo moments. It was amazing and it was a very patient lizard I must say 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts

