Finding the Red-bellied Woodpecker


Yesterday I walked out of the house, towards the river. Lately I’ve been feeling slow and inactive. I did not want too walk far, once I reached the river I was satisfied. The weather has warmed up and there were many people taking the trail that morning. I sat by the river away from the people, a Canada Goose standing on the opposite shore of the river, making calls now and then but mostly just watching ahead and standing there for reasons I could not understand. After about 20min it was joined by another Goose. I sat there and read a some pages from Wild by Cheryl Strayed who walked the Pacific Crest Trail alone by herself.

On my way to and back from the river I captured some signs of Spring :

breakthrough
breakthrough
up and down the flower I go
up and down the flower I go
Spring against the sky
Spring against the sky
blue menace
a small blue bug close up

And the final treat I received was a first brief look at a Red-bellied Woodpecker that was too high on a tree to take a clear picture of:

Red-bellied woodpecker for the first time
Red-bellied woodpecker for the first time
2 thoughts on “Finding the Red-bellied Woodpecker

Share your thoughts

