Double-crested Cormorant


We are going to leave the photos from Sri Lanka for a while, (even though we got through only 3.7% of the collection) and come to the present moment in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada. I’ve started to be active in my nature pursuits here again and I’ve learned that it’s best to share photos as I go. So forgive me if you were enjoying the Sri Lankan sceneries and nature.

I got to recently photograph the common Cormorant species in Canada called the Double-crested Cormorant. They’ve got beautiful blue eyes:

Double Crested Cormorant

I’ve also seen cormorants in UK and Sri Lanka but those must be of different species as Double-crested are found almost entirely in North America. I wouldn’t know to tell the differences yet but I am learning as I go.

Double Crested Cormorant Flight

It landed on the same pond as where the Wood Ducks were:

Double Crested Cormorant Pair

Birding is fun.

Share your thoughts

