Between Hope and Despair


I’ve been bouncing between hope and despair for a while now – self-absorbed – trying to make the best decisions. I’ve been taking myself and my future too seriously, desperately holding onto illusions of control. Thinking that if I thought hard enough and wide enough I could change things.

That was before.

Now I feel like I am settling into comfortable mediocrity and with that my dreams feel like the leaves below.  It is the feeling of giving in.

img_5146

However, I will continue to find joy in little things. I’ve heard that it’s not the path you travel, but how you travel it that makes the real difference. Maybe one day, my dreams will grow wings again.

You know what I’m most afraid of? I am afraid of becoming numb like the many people I see, going about their tasks, passing as well-adjusted members of society.

What does it mean to be well-adjusted to a society that is based on greed, competition and fear?

Share your thoughts

